The SBM Charitable Foundation, Inc., perpetuating the vision of the former Savings Bank of Manchester, is committed to bettering the lives of those who live and work predominantly East of the River in Hartford, Tolland, and Windham Counties. Priorities established for the Foundation’s giving are Health, Human Services, Education, Housing, and the Arts.


Staff Directory


Executive Director
Doreen Downham
Phone: (860) 533-0355

Foundation and Scholarship Director
Kelley Gunther
Phone: (860) 533-1067

Office Fax : (860) 533-0241
Office Address:
935 Main Street, Unit B101, Level C
Manchester, CT 06040


Board of Directors

Laurence P. Rubinow, Chairman

Richard P. Meduski, President

Douglas K. Anderson, Vice President

Charles L. Pike, Vice President

Brian A. Orenstein, Treasurer

Timothy J. Devanney
Sheila B. Flanagan
Harry S. Gaucher
Michael J. Hartl
Linda S. Klein
John D. LaBelle, Jr.
Eric A. Marziali
Timothy J. Moynihan
Jon L. Norris
William D. O'Neill
Richard D. Suski
Gregory S. Wolff
A. Paul Berté (Retired/Deceased)
John G. Sommers (Deceased)
Thomas E. Toomey (Retired)